Eight home games for Reds in 2019

The Queensland Reds will play eight home fixtures at Suncorp Stadium in 2019.

SANZAAR released the Vodafone Super Rugby draw for next season today.

“[The draw] includes blockbuster clashes against the Crusaders, Blues and Stormers, all the Australian conference teams – including our oldest rival New South Wales – and our first ever home game against the Jaguares from Argentina,”¬†Queensland Rugby Union Interim CEO David Hanham said.

“Our fans can enjoy an uninterrupted Super Rugby schedule with no June Test window in 2019, which will allow the Super Rugby competition to maximise momentum leading into the Finals Series.”

The Reds’ campaign begins on the road in New Zealand in Round 2 on Friday 22 February against the Highlanders.

Their first home game is scheduled to on Saturday 2 March against the eight-time Super Rugby champions the Crusaders.

Then, the Reds play host to Australian-rivals the Brumbies on the afternoon of Sunday 24 March – and back up the next weekend with another local derby at Suncorp Stadium against the Rebels on Saturday 30 March.

The Stormers from South Africa’s Cape Town visit Brisbane on Friday 5 April.

The Reds will then go travel for about a month before they play Japan’s Sunwolves at Suncorp Stadium on Friday 3 May.

The oldest rivalry in Australian Rugby continues on Saturday 18 May, as the New South Wales Waratahs travel north to take on Queensland in a Round 14 clash.

With no June Test window in 2019 – a Rugby World Cup year – the final two home games of the regular season are at the beginning of June.

The Reds welcome Argentina’s Jaguares for their first Super Rugby visit to Suncorp Stadium on Saturday 1 June and our final home game before Finals is against Auckland’s Blues on Friday 7 June.

SANZAAR today also confirmed that The Finals Series will also remain unchanged with each of the three Conference winners qualifying for and hosting a quarter-final. The team with the most tournament points that is not a Conference winner, regardless of Conference, will host the fourth quarter-final. This Wildcard team will be joined in the quarter-finals by the next best four Wildcards teams based on tournament points and regardless of Conference.

About Post Author