Queensland Reds Super Rugby AU draw announced

The Queensland Reds will kickoff their Super Rugby AU season against their oldest rivals New South Wales at Suncorp Stadium on July 3.

Rugby Australia today unveiled the full season draw that sees Queensland play eight matches in a round-robin home-and-away format against the four other Australian clubs with two bye rounds.

The Reds have an equal share of four Friday night and four Saturday night matches all in primetime slots, offering fans consistent tune-in times across the entire season.

For the first seven rounds, the Super Rugby AU Saturday night fixture will feature as part of Super Rugby a double-header on Fox Sport, with the Australian broadcaster also set to screen the full Super Rugby Aotearoa season.

The competition will run over 12 consecutive weekends culminating in a two-week finals series beginning on September 12.

The Final will be hosted by the team that finishes top of the ladder after the regular rounds and will be played on September 19. The hosts will play the winner of a two-versus-three Qualifying Final in the decider.

“Today is another exciting day for Rugby fans in Australia as we unveil the full competition draw for Vodafone Super Rugby AU,” said Rugby Australia interim CEO, Rob Clarke.

“One of the main features of the draw is the consistent Friday and Saturday night primetime viewing slots on Fox Sport, which Rugby fans can set their clocks to for the next 12 weeks.

“There will be no need to set the alarms to get up and watch your team in the middle of night.

“We are looking forward to welcoming back the Western Force and seeing them take on their Australian rivals once again.

“We know there is a lot of excitement in the west and we cannot wait to see them in action.

“We know our teams will be desperate to get their hands on the silverware and players will be out to put their best foot forward for Wallabies selection at the end of the season.”

Queensland Reds 2020 Vodafone Super Rugby AU Season Draw

Round 1 — Friday July 3
Reds v Waratahs at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane @ 7:05pm AEST

Round 2 — Friday July 10
Rebels v Reds at AAMI Park, Melbourne @ 7:05pm AEST

Round 3 — Friday July 17
Reds v Force at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane @ 7:05pm AEST

Round 4 — BYE

Round 5 — Saturday August 1
Brumbies v Reds at GIO Stadium, Canberra @ 7:15pm AEST

Round 6 — Saturday August 8
Waratahs v Reds at Sydney @ 7:15pm AEST

Round 7 — Saturday August 15
Reds v Rebels at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane @ 7:15pm AEST

Round 8 — Friday August 21
Force v Reds at HBF Park, Perth @ 7:05pm AEST

Round 9 — BYE

Round 10 — Saturday September 5
Reds v Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane @ 7:15pm

Qualifying Final
Saturday September 12

Saturday September 19

*times, locations and dates are subject to change by Rugby Australia

About Post Author