Uni preseason games announced

University will open their rugby season against Wynnum on March 10.

The following week they’ll play Caboolture in Caboolture.

The season proper is expected to begin March 24.

There is talk that the Sunshine Coast Rugby Union clubs will be joining Queensland Suburban Rugby Union competition.

A decision is expected to be made at the QSRU Annual General Meeting.

What we’re covering in the coming months

Here’s what we’re planning to cover until September

February 10

Leongatha and District CA B Grade Div 1: MDU v Wonthaggi Workmens

February 17

Leongatha and District CA A Grade Div 2: MDU v Foster

February 25

Queensland Premier Grade Div 1: Sunshine Coast v Ipswich Logan

Sunshine Coast CA Div 2B: Maroochydore v Tewantin Noosa

Other grades might be done as well.

March 3

Sunshine Coast CA Div 2B: Maroochydore v Tewantin Noosa

Other grades might be done as well.

March 10 and 11

Sunshine Coast CA semi finals

March 17, 18 and 24

Sunshine Coast CA Grand Finals

April through September

Sunshine Coast Rugby Union A and Reserve grades. Dates to be confirmed.

We may also cover any of the AFL Gippsland leagues as well. We’ll confirm closer to the dates.

2018/19 Sunshine Coast CA Twenty20 to be confirmed.

FFA Cup starts this weekend

The 2018 FFA Cup qualifiers are scheduled to kick off this weekend.

“The FFA Cup gives clubs and teams at a range of levels in Australian football the opportunity to dream about winning a major national title,” says FFA CEO David Gallop.

Keilor Wolves SC will travel to IYU Reserve to play Pakenham United FC on Saturday.

Slot allocated for this years FFA Cup proper will remain unchanged with Football NSW receiving five slots, Football Queensland and Football Federation Victoria four slots, Northern NSW Football and Football West two slots, and Football Federation South Australia, Football Federation Tasmania, Capital Football (ACT) and Football Federation Northern Territory each getting one slot.

The ten A-League clubs will enter the FFA Cup proper at the Round of 32. The remaining Member Federation slot will be taken by Heidelberg United FC. Heidelberg received automatic entry into the FFA Cup 2018 Round of 32 after being crowned NPL Champion of Australia in 2017.

FFA e-League to be broadcast on Fox Sport and Twitch

Fox Sports is due to broadcast Football Federation Australia’s e-League starting February 15.

“Fox Sports have been supporters of football for many years, and we’ve been working very closely with them to bring the e-League to life,” said FFA’s Head of Commercial, Digital and Marketing, Luke Bould. “The e-League will connect an avid EA Sports FIFA 18 audience with the Hyundai A-League & Westfield W-League and is a first in the Australian sports industry.”

e-League content will also be streamed to Twitch.tv. Exactly what that content will be is unclear.

“We’re delighted to be able to take Australian football onto a new channel like Twitch, and we’re hoping to talk to new audiences around the world about the Hyundai A-League, Westfield W-League, and the newly created e-League,” he said.

Nerrena on top

Nerrena has moved to the top of the ladder after defeating Meeniyan Dumbalk United (MDU) in comfortable fashion.

Defending 264, Josh Tease (3/27) and Adam Trotto (4/17) ripped through the MDU top order as the Demons were all out for 127.

Captain Nick Eddy 64 was the top scorer for Meeniyan on a batting card that left much to be desired.

The Red Caps batted the remainder of the day’s play finishing 2/34 with Nathan Trotto 20 not out.